Home » reading » War Eagle, The Fox, and TPT

War Eagle, The Fox, and TPT

I’m finally home from a conference-been there since Wednesday night. It feels good to be home!!

Let me go ahead and say, “War Eagle!”

2013 SEC Champions!! And what a game!

20131207-222810.jpg

I normally don’t update my Facebook status with football news. It’s too dangerous. πŸ™‚

But I had to do this one! πŸ™‚

20131207-222916.jpg

After the hubby went to bed, I got busy on Teachers Pay Teachers. And yes, I paid several teachers!

20131207-223037.jpg

I bought a couple of math things, but what I really went crazy with was for reading time.

I should have been doing some intervention all along. Because this is what we’re facing. One of my 6th graders couldn’t read the word “rough” the other day. And he has actually placed at a higher reading level than 2 other students.

So while I will be keeping the reading workshop routine, because I’m in love with it, I’m going to start pulling groups with a plan in mind.

I’ve already divided my 16 students into 3 groups. Will I be able to meet with all 3 groups every day? No. But hopefully I can meet with 2 groups per day. I’m going to squeeze some time away from writing (I know-I know!) and history/science.

Before you panic about the writing, just know that I will only be stealing 5-10 minutes. πŸ™‚

Also, I’m going to keep my reading mini-lesson that is while class MINI! If it takes us 2-3 weeks to closely read and analyze a short text, then so be it! I’ve GOT to address these reading deficiencies in my students. Otherwise, the close reads are worthless. Right?

So I’m thinking that with my lowest group I will meet with them everyday.

Sight words, decoding multisyllable words, oral reading fluency, and comprehension. A. Little. Bit. Each. Day.

I really don’t know how long all of that is going to take. It sounds like it would take 30 minutes!!

I still don’t have it all planned out in my head. I’m worried. I’m scared. Not about doing it. But staying on a time schedule. And not knowing what to give up if it’s taking too long!

Most teachers worry about what the other kids will be doing. Not me because I have them reading. Easy Peasy.

Lately I’ve been thinking I need 90 minutes for math and 90 minutes for reading. Did I already write about that in another blog post?!??? πŸ™‚

So here’s to tomorrow and getting some actual planning and organizing done!

6 thoughts on “War Eagle, The Fox, and TPT

  1. Wow, you make me think of my daughter-in-law and her struggles with “not enough time” too. She teaches special ed and has 3rd, 4th and 5th-grade students all in the one class. Phew! Bless you all!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

