Home » Math » Guided Math Small Group Beginning

Guided Math Small Group Beginning

I’m diving in tomorrow. Well, a little bit anyway. 🙂

It will be my 1st official day of math small group instruction. I’m going to keep it simple tomorrow so that we can all get used to this type of environment. So no new skill tomorrow. Just a review of ratios/rates.

But I will be showing them how to problem solve by showing some LOVE. I got this idea from a teacher who blogged about how she taught her students to problem solve this way.

You can read her post here:

http://teachingtoinspirein5th.blogspot.com/2012/11/teaching-math-through-cognitively.html

Our 3 rotations are going to be:

1. Mobymax.com

2. Small group with me

3. Practice sheet on current skill-they will work as a group to complete this. IF they finish, they can play a game.

For my small group instruction I am going to keep it somewhat simple.

First, we are going to work up with some multiplication facts. I just printed an entire set from this website below. Thank you to the angel that created these!! 🙂

Multiplication Flash Cards

http://www.mcps.org/FBE_Files/MULTIPLICATION%20FLASHCARDS.pdf

After that little warm up, we are going to self correct the math test from last week and discuss. Then, if we have time, we are going to problem solve 1 problem from the math test using our new LOVE strategy. At the end of small group time, they are going to put their name card in the appropriate place on the MATH bulletin board.

I NEED MORE PRACTICE               I’VE GOT IT                   I COULD TEACH SOMEONE

This is IF I have time to redo a bulletin board. 🙂

I’ll be reporting back during the week to let you know how it goes! 🙂

 

 

10 thoughts on “Guided Math Small Group Beginning

  1. Great ideas. I am so impressed with teachers who have this Growth Mindset. It’s all about trying…if it’s great…GREAT…if it flops…reflect on what needs to be tweaked, and the fix it. Awesome job. I am trying to promote discussion within student pairs/groups with my colleagues. I am teaching a 2nd grade lesson tomorrow. I will let you know how this goes tomorrow on Twitter. : )

    • Mrs. Covill-

      Can’t wait to hear how your 2nd grade lesson went today!! I ALREADY changed 1 thing from our reading time today. 🙂 I taught them how to work with a partner and practice oral reading fluency. I had created a running record sheet for them to fill out. After my 1st group today, I decided NOT to have any kind of timer or calculation for them. I ONLY want them to listen to their partner read a text, mark errors on the text, and then transfer to the running record sheet so the other student will have the words they couldn’t read as a way of working on them throughout the week before they read it at the end of the week to their partner again.

      I’m sure I will end up tweaking it some more. 🙂 I’m hoping for some great things out of this!!!

      • The lesson went super long but had the kids’ attention for the whole time. I wanted to model discussion and other ways for kids to interact with each other so that is the reason! It’s always nice to reflect after a lesson! Good job at having that “growth mindset”! : )

        Mr. Scovill : )

      • Well, MR. Scovill-

        That was a major grammar mistake I made wasn’t it? Lol!

        I actually modeled how to discuss vocabulary words today with one group. It really got the discussion going! And now everyone in the group knows what a harpoon is! 🙂

        I know I DON’T model things enough and need to improve in this area!

      • I told my colleague(s) there are four steps to do this:
        Explain the activity
        Model the activity
        Set your expectations for the activity
        Check for understanding

        Good luck in this area…there are always areas in which we can improve. I always liked feedback on how I did so that I could improve upon the feedback.

        It sounds like your heading in the right direction! : )

        MR. Scovill or John : )

    • Matt-

      The majority of my 6th graders decided that for the unit rates concept in math they fell into the “I could teach someone” category. We will wait and see if they still feel the same way after I TEACH them all the things they have to do/say to TEACH someone else. 🙂

      Thank you so much for listing my blog!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m headed over there to read it! 🙂

      • Absolutely! There a ton of great teaching blogs, but a lot of them don’t really involve a “whole world” perspective, and what life is like for teachers outside the classroom. I think your posts offer a really nice look at what a teacher’s life is like, inside the classroom and out.

        If you ever need a guest poster, let me know! I’d love to collaborate on something!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

