Home » running challenges » 500 in 2014

500 in 2014

2 years ago I made a resolution/vow/goal to TRY and run a 5k. My husband laughed. Said I could never do it. I showed him.

I used the FABULOUS Couch25k program and ended up running 440 miles that year. (2012).

I went from 163 pounds to 126. In 4 months.

THEN I stayed at around 128-132 lbs for a looooong time.

Enter 2013. Yes, I DID run a half-marathon at Disney World. My husband was very proud of me. I was proud of me.

But then I let life AND laziness get in my way. I slacked off of my running.

In 2013 (even with my half marathon) I’ve only run 145 miles. FOR. THE. YEAR.

OMG.

So, with that being said, 2014 is just around the corner.

And I’m gonna get my run back on. I pledge to run 500 miles in 2014. Yep. Gonna do it. πŸ™‚

A great group of tweeps on twitter have started the #500in2014 challenge on nike +.

I’m in.

And guess what? My husband didn’t laugh this time. Because he knows I can do it. But he DID say I couldn’t do it. Even though he knows I can do it. I think he’s trying for a little reverse psychology. Best motivation ever. It was the last time. πŸ™‚

I’m taking this 144 lb slacking runner girl and turning her into a skinnier (haha-you thought I was going to say 126 lb girl) running girl.

Just call me the Road Runner. πŸ™‚

20131229-005346.jpg

6 thoughts on “500 in 2014

  1. Beep Beep! Hey Road Runner … I was planning to step up my walking program, too, especially since the collision took that away from me this year. I’m with you on getting skinnier and in shape. Let’s do this!

    • Barbara,

      We CAN do it! I remember sitting on my couch 2 years ago wanting to be a runner yet knowing how hard it was going to be (20 pounds heavier).

      So I’ve already done the HARD part!

      And walking/running/cycling/moving- A mile is a mile!

      Let’s go girl!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

