Home » Book stuff » First Book of the Year 2014

First Book of the Year 2014

1a

The amazing Sheila over at Book Journey is having some fun with THE FIRST BOOK OF THE YEAR that she hosts each year. It’s a chance to pick a book that you’ve been wanting to read (or reread) and bring in the new year with it.
I’ve decided to ring-bring in 2014 with:

The Program by Suzanne Young.

11366397

The Program (The Program #1)

by Suzanne Young (Goodreads Author)
In Sloane’s world, true feelings are forbidden, teen suicide is an epidemic, and the only solution is The Program.
Doesn’t that make you want to read it? I know it does me!! 🙂
Here’s a little bio from Goodreads about the author, Suzanne Young:
Suzanne Young currently lives in Tempe, Arizona where she teaches high school English and obsesses about books. She’s the author of A NEED SO BEAUTIFUL, A WANT SO WICKED, and THE PROGRAM. Learn more about Suzanne at www.suzanne-young.blogspot.com
UPDATE-I started this book today, and it started with a BANG!
My husband took this picture of me and my ipad. It only took us 314 times to figure out that oh, I can change the background color so it won’t show up as just whited out!! 🙂 Even though I will ALWAYS prefer holding an actual book in my hand when I read, I do have to say that being able to immediately download a book to my kindle and then being able to read it on my ipad or iphone is WONDERFUL. It makes me love technology THAT MUCH MORE! 🙂

20131231-234113.jpg

 

Oh yeah, that’s NOT a furry animal on our coffee table-it’s a hat that my husband LOVES to wear. Even if he does look Russian in it. 🙂

What’s the 1st book you will be reading this year???

23 thoughts on “First Book of the Year 2014

  1. I love the black background feature! I use it when I read on my iPhone in bed when my hubby is sleeping. It doesn’t wake him up that way. I’m starting the year off with the new Janet Evanovich – Takedown Twenty. I just love the humour in those Stephanie Plum books! Happy New Year!
    -Lisa
    Grade 4 Buzz

    • Lisa,

      Then that’s what I need to do-use the black background when he’ sleeping because him sleeping and me reading happen A LOT in my house!

      Can you believe I’ve NEVER read any of the Stephanie Plum books? They obviously need to go on my TBR list!

  2. I know what you mean about wanting to hold onto a book versus reading it on an iPad. I thought I would NEVER want to read a book electronically….and now, I’m addicted. I love that I can take the book with me anywhere. My first book for the new year is “Word Nerds” — a reread from the summer. (Which, ironically, is an actual book for me and not on my iPad.)

    Jennifer
    Mrs. Laffin’s Laughings

    • Jennifer,

      I read that book this summer and was so excited about implementing it with my 6th graders. I’m not sure WHAT went wrong, but….

      Now I’m rethinking it and going to try it during science with all of the vocabulary that gets thrown their way. HARD vocabulary! 🙂

  3. Love your photo, and the work that went into making the background black! Sounds like a good dystopian book? Happy New Year and lots of good books in 2014.

    • Kathryn,

      I just finished The Program, and now I’ve GOT to read the sequel-which I didn’t realize there was a sequel to begin with. But she better be glad there is! HA!

    • Alison,

      Go to your ipad NOW and start reading it. It’s a very interesting concept!! And there’s a sequel that I just found out about. Thank goodness!

  4. Wow, Shannon—VERY legible blog title 😀

    I’m doing Sheila’s “First Book” too and guess what I’M reading?!!!!! I’m giving you ONE guess (in case you didn’t see me mentioning it on her blog, that is! lol)….

    • Ok, Donna, you made is sound like I should know….but I can’t figure it out!!!!!!!!! NOT the same book???!??! I’m going to head to her blog now…

  5. I spent the morning yesterday ringing in the new year reading The Tiger Rising by Kate DiCamilllo. I great read and I can’t wait to have some conversations with the 4th graders at my school…but I’ll have to wait since we have a snow day today and most likely tomorrow as well.

    • Liz,

      Congrats on your snow days!!!!!!!!!! I’ve read The Tiger Rising and really liked it. I’m off to buy the sequel to The Program since I just realized she wrote one. And she better be glad she did…. 🙂

      • OK, Liz and Shannon, I love Kate’s writing and have read several, and own a few more I STILL haven’t read, but THE TIGER RISING isn’t one of them. In comparison to her other books, how does it compare as far as a “good read”? I’m asking only because I need to figure if it’s yet another to add to my pile! Thanks 🙂

      • I’ve read THE TALE OF DESPEREAUX (own), all her “BINK & GOLLIE” books (own 2), a couple of her “MERCY WATSON” books and the short story she wrote for THE CHRONICLES OF HARRIS BURDICK (own). I also own BECAUSE OF WINN DIXIE and THE MIRACULOUS JOURNEY OF EDWARD TULANE, but haven’t read them yet. I just now looked and there are a few other books I wasn’t aware of, and I’m sure I will eventually buy FLORA & ULYSSES.

        http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=nb_sb_noss_1?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=Kate%20DiCamillo

      • Ok- the only other one I’ve read is Because of Winn Dixie. I liked both, but Winn Dixie was my fave. 🙂

      • I LOVED “Desperaux.” I ended up finally reading her work because she was the keynote at our 2012 Conference. I actually re-discovered she was one of the story writers for “Chronicles” and once I’d read it, I fell in love with her writing. I wanted to read at least one of her books before meeting her, so that’s when I read “Despereaux.” She is a very down-to-earth person and I’m glad I had the chance to talk with her a bit. What a gifted writer! 😀

      • Donna,

        The students I have that have read Desperaux have always loved it- my copy is actually a gift from a 6th grader 2 years ago! Guess I need to move it up on my TBR!

      • I think so, but there are SO many books, it’s hard to choose. I am DEfinitely glad I listened to you, though, about ONE FOR THE MURPHYS! 🙂 Thank you!

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!

