Home » Blogging » Book Blogging Extraordinaire

Book Blogging Extraordinaire

I just went through all of my “read” books on my goodreads account and made a “not yet reviewed” shelf for them. OH MY WORD. I only went back about 2 years. I ended up adding 332 books to this shelf.

So now my goal is to review them here on my blog. I have been reviewing books on my blog for quite awhile, but OBVIOUSLY not ALL of the ones I’m reading. Good grief- I never thought there were THAT many that I had not reviewed!! πŸ™‚

I had recently applied to be a CYBILS judge and was not accepted. When I really started thinking about why I might not have been accepted I came to this conclusion:

1. YES, I read ALL the time.

2. YES, I review these books on goodreads.

3. NO, I don’t review them on my blog like I thought I did. LOL!

I want to catch up. How in the world am I going to do this? I still want to blog about teaching, etc. I think there’s an unwritten rule out there to NOT publish more than 1 blog post each day. Uh-oh. πŸ™‚

So what’s a girl to do? Hmmm……

I don’t want it to take me 14 years to get caught up on my book blogging. I mean it’s not like I’m NOT going to be reading anything currently and needing to blog about these books as well.

Any suggestions? Do I dare to break the blogging etiquette rule? Do I get caught up when I turn 81 years old? πŸ™‚

HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Oh, and here’s my “not reviewed yet” goodreads bookshelf:

http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/4822574-shannon-clark?shelf=not-reviewed-yet

And, yes, I’m going to break the bloggy rule for tonight anyway.

But please weigh in with your opinion!

goodreads

11 thoughts on “Book Blogging Extraordinaire

  1. Hi, why don’t you try setting a schedule for the book reviews? Like maybe have them out every Mon, Wed, Fri or any other day(s) that you like. I guess it’s okay to post more than one blog entry a day if your readers are aware that you have a scheduled book review coming out on that day.

    • A schedule sounds good! Yeah, that way my readers won’t feel so bombarded-they will just expect it and either read it or skip over it. πŸ™‚ Thanks!!!!!!!!

  2. I once read Don’t Trip Over the Past. I think this advice applies to your quandary.

    Begin reviewing every book you read starting tonight. If you read 3 books this weekend, review all three. Let go of the ones you didn’t review. You enjoyed or didn’t but the time to review them has come and gone. Or reread the ones you’d like to review.

    Breathe deeply and open a book.

    • That’s an idea! But now I’m obsessively stuck on getting these reviewed on my blog. πŸ™‚ I did review them on goodreads so all I have to really do is copy and paste into a blog post. Someone else said I ought to set up a schedule for book reviews for certain days of the week. That might work, too. πŸ™‚ I think I’m sort of being selfish about it, too, thinking that if I can get all of these reviews done in the next year then I “might” get picked as a Cybils judge next year. πŸ™‚

  3. Are all the books in the CYBILS category you want to judge? I would only do the ones for that category, especially if they were winners/finalists. Plus, no one reviews every book they read, unless it’s their job. I would only do the ones you had a strong reaction to, whether positive or negative. Also, two years back is a long time! If no one is still talking about it, it might not be a good idea to review it, unless you think it’s one people may have missed and really need to read/buy for their classroom/school library.

    • You’re right-2 years back IS a long time! πŸ™‚ For the Cybils judging I had applied for middle grade, YA (I think), and then picture book. Lots of what I read are adult fiction as well. Most of the books I read now aren’t brand new since I wait until they are in paperback usually or even older. (I’m cheap like that sometimes!) You’ve got good points! I think I might set up a schedule for book reviews a couple of days each week or something. I just feel this NEED to get these on my blog. I think I’m going crazy… πŸ™‚

  4. I often review several books in one post. I have made posts where I let my readers know that school got in the way of my writing my post and therefore I am posting several reviews. If I have a lot I will title the post Review Catch Up Day 1, etc.
    I have several on Goodreads I’ve not posted on my blog and I decided a long time ago to just let them go unless I am going to re-read them.

    • Thanks Sandra!

      I may set up a schedule and let my readers know that I’m playing catch up do reviews will be posted on certain days or something. I think I’m also going to group some if them together if they’re in the same series or maybe even type. πŸ™‚

  5. Pingback: What’s New On My Bookshelf #37 ~ Now that’s a lot of books! | fuonlyknew

  6. Pingback: 1 Star Reviews. Are You Comfortable With Them? | The Literary Syndicate

  7. Pingback: Changes To My Book Reviews - My Writer's Cramp

I love hearing from you. Let's have a conversation!